Entering the New Year with last year’s Resolutions

2011-new-year

New Year’s is a harmless annual institution, of no particular use to anybody save as a scapegoat for promiscuous drunks, and friendly calls and humbug resolutions. [Mark Twain]


New Year:

I must confess that I have never really understood the idea of New Year. Is it to transform oneself into a brand new self? Or to have new look, new ideas, new house, new friends, new job, new city, new world etc?
But in fact I find only New number there. The year is all about a change of digit (from 2010 to 2011) and that’s it.

This is why I chose the following quote to wish New Year to those who wished me, for I did not want to be discourteous by not replying in return. But at the same time I maintained my personal motto of not wishing anyone Happy New Year.. which is why I used this life savior quote..

Drop the last year into the silent limbo of the past. Let it go, for it was imperfect, and thank God that it can go. [Brooks Atkinson]

New Year Resolutions:
The term ‘New Year Resolution’ is the first thing on mind whenever the word new year is mentioned or when the calendar has reached its last page. Although it’s hard to date back the history of this term but nevertheless it has been used with fervor ever since I can remember.

I don’t really like the idea of making resolutions on New Year’s eve especially and this is why I made no resolutions this year.
Perhaps..

I made no resolutions for the New Year, (because) the habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me. [Anais Nin]

Making Resolutions:
I found myself dumbfounded when an acquaintance asked my New Year resolution, on the second day of the New Year.
None, I replied coldly.
WHY.. was the next question I had to face next.
Because I have not been able to achieve my last year’s resolution, that is why I made none this year, I replied calmly.
The acquaintance did not find my answer arguable and the conversation dismissed.

But after replying, I started pondering answer, my last year’s resolutions, which were as fresh as dew at the start. They became dim by the middle of the year and completely muted as the last days of the year showed up.

My Resolution:
Yes, I have NO new resolutions for this year because I want to focus on last year’s aims and would like to achieve those before aiming for new one.
Because I believe..

Making resolutions is a cleansing ritual of self assessment and repentance that demands personal honesty and, ultimately, reinforces humility. Breaking them is part of the cycle. [Eric Zorn]

I have no new Resolution because I have decided to stick to my last year’s resolutions as it is equally important to stick to your resolutions after making them.
This is why I enter the New Year but with Old Year’s resolutions because they remain unachieved and I want to achieve them this year.

Maintaining Resolutions:
To maintain my last year’s resolutions is my New Year Resolution.
Because before making new resolutions, it is crucial to look back into the window of past to find out where do our last year’s resolutions lay now. We must not leave them behind in the last year but must accompany the last year’s resolution into the New Year.

I feel New Year resolutions may not be as harmful as I have described above. If the resolutions are good provided achievable, it can do wonders for any soul even me. For I agree with G. K. Chesterton when he stated:

The object of a New Year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul and a new nose; new feet, a new backbone, new ears, and new eyes. Unless a particular man made New Year resolutions, he would make no resolutions. Unless a man starts afresh about things, he will certainly do nothing effective.. Unless a man be born again, he shall by no means enter into the Kingdom of Heaven.

But if I must choose One New Year Resolution. It would be probably be the following..

New Year’s Resolution: To tolerate fools more gladly, provided this does not encourage them to take up more of my time. [James Agate]

Leave a Reply

